User Tools

Site Tools


« Dictionary Index « Definitions under G


The Gaelic alphabet consists of eighteen letters: a, b, c, d, e, f, g, h, i, l, m, n, o, p, r, s, t, u. Of these, five are vowels, a, e, i, o, u; the rest consonants. — Stewart's Gaelic Grammar. 8vo. 2d. edit. 1812.

“It may be explanatory to mention, that the syllable Kil is supposed to mark the residence (the Cella), in ancient times of an ecclesiastical recluse; and that Kin, Ken (Cean) means head. Ken-loch-Spelvie, &c. the Head of Loch Spelvie, &c. The letter C is always pronounced K in Welsh and Gaelic.” — Sixth Report of Commissioners for Building Churches in the Highlands of Scotland. Appendix, 1831. Note.

Next PageLast Page