User Tools

Site Tools


« Dictionary Index « Definitions under P


he names of seven planets are used in some instances for the seven days of the week, in the following manner: —

  • The Sun, Dies Solis, is Sunday.
  • The Moon, Dies Lunae, is Monday.
  • Mars, Dies Martis, is Tuesday.
  • Mercury, Dies Mercurii, is Wednesday.
  • Jupiter, Dies Jovis, is Thursday.
  • Venus, Dies Veneris, is Friday.
  • Saturn, Dies Saturni, is Saturday.

In the Journals of the House of Lords, they use the term Dies Sabbati for Saturday, that day being the original Sabbath. See Astronomical Characters.

First PagePrevious PageNext PageLast Page